Jim's Blog

Thoughts and Happenings

Why do I like to blog?

Posted by Jim Rector on January 6, 2011

That’s a good question. One that I thought of yesterday. Do I really think people care that I visited my 91 year-old grandmother over Thanksgiving? Do they care that I had a son get not only engaged but married last year? Do they have any interest whatsoever in the fact that I’ll soon be 50 and will have even lost 50 pounds? How about the links that I often post? They’re just links that interest me. Ok, sometimes I post some for the sole purpose of getting a rise out of my liberal friends. (All three of them!) Has any link ever changed a single person’s political or spiritual beliefs or attitudes? Probably not.

typing_1

If I blogged only for the reasons above then I would be almost as narcissistic as Bill Clinton or Barack Obama. I’d be thinking that people were on the edge of their seat waiting for the next great word from Jim. I mean everyone should be interested in whether I like to talk on the phone vs. sending text messages. Everyone should care about what I think about healthcare, DADT, or taxes. Where I go on trips and who I visit should be of the utmost importance to all my “friends” in the cyber world. That’s some profound stuff there folks! I jest of course.

I think that I blog because I like it. I enjoy the exercise of writing. I like capturing thoughts and blogging them so that later (month, year, decade) I can go back and see what went on and what I was thinking. Another reason is I’m bad at writing and I think blogging helps me become a better writer. Like every other discipline the more you practice the better you get. It’s pretty simple, not earthshattering.

How about you? Do you blog? If so, why? If not, why?

Leave a Reply

 
