Jim's Blog

Thoughts and Happenings

Obama “Won’t ban guns” – But he wants to

Posted by Jim Rector on September 6, 2008

Obama keeps trying to comfort gun owners by telling them that he won’t come for their guns. But for me it rings hollow. I might feel different if he stated that he believed the 2nd ammendment protected the right of the people to keep and bear arms, or he had a record of supporting gun ownership rights. But in the Wall Street Journal article “Obama: ‘I’m not going to take your guns away” he doesn’t provide much comfort to law-abiding gun owners. This excerpt causes much to be concerned about:

“If you’ve got a gun in your house, I’m not taking it,’’ Obama said. But the Illinois senator could still see skeptics in the crowd, particularly on the faces of several men at the back of the room.

So he tried again. “Even if I want to take them away, I don’t have the votes in Congress,’’ he said. “This can’t be the reason not to vote for me. Can everyone hear me in the back? I see a couple of sportsmen back there. I’m not going to take away your guns.’’

So bascially this tells me that if he really wants to take guns away but believes that the votes aren’t there in Congress. Not very conforting to me. How about you? So really he wants us to not be worried about him taking away our guns but we better elect a pro-gun congress.

The media won’t report the wild gun laws Obama proposes but a December 13, 1999 article in the black newspaper the Chicago Defender reported on Obama’s proposals at that time, as he ran and lost a primary against Congressman Bobby Rush the next year:

Obama is proposing to make it a felony for a gun owner whose firearm was stolen from his residence which causes harm to another person if that weapon was not securely stored in that home.

I definatly don’t want this guy in charge of appointing supreme court justices.

One Response to “Obama “Won’t ban guns” – But he wants to”

  1. […] Comments (RSS) « Obama “Won’t ban guns” – But he wants to […]

Leave a Reply

 
