Jim's Blog

Thoughts and Happenings

Don’t agree with Piper on this one

Posted by Jim Rector on July 5, 2008

I usually agree with John Piper on things. I see where he’s coming from in this post about defending oneself.  and appreciate the attitude he takes. However, I think this is one of those area’s that’s not so black and white. While he believes he would be right to possibly acquiesce in the face of someone intent on doing him harm, I don’t believe the Bible teaches that I should just sit there and take whatever comes if someone kicks in my door or accosts me on the street. I will probably defend myself with any means possible. I say ‘probably’ because there’s always the possibility that the Spirit will lead me to something else. Anyway, here’s Piper’s post:

http://www.desiringgod.org/Blog/1288_Guns_and_Martyrdom/

Leave a Reply

 
